Hebden Bridge to Ponden

The I looked back and bid farewell to Studley Pike and set off across the hills.  It was off through a few overgrown and tricky paths to begin with, which eventually opened out over sheep grazing pastures overlooking Colden.  The path descended into a steep grough to reach Colden water with a charming stone footbridge.

 The Climb back up was a bit tedious, and I was faced with a field full of cows with the biggest bull I ever did see, luckily for me, the path followed the field on the other side of the bulls fence!  Phew!  It was starting to get a bit hot, and the lady at the bed and breakfast had mentioned a small farm shop along the road at the top which sold everything.  She wasn’t wrong, it wasn’t called Aladdins Cave for nothing!  Wow, what she did not sell wasn’t worth selling, she even stocked various bottles of  whisky, including one I had not heard of – Sheep Dip!  I purchased a couple of toiletry items, some choccy and took advantage of the conveniences on site.  It really was like stepping back in time, the toilets were in an outhouse, and consisted of a simple wood bench with a lid over the hole to and elsan toilet.  I know I may seem to be very descriptive, but everything was impeccably clean, and she was obviously very proud of her establishment.  It turns out she also catered for the odd camper, and offered this facility free to Pennine Way walkers – a truly lovely lady!

After sitting outside and enjoying a drink, I reluctantly left the tranquility and went back to the trail.  I then started the climb up to Heptenstall Moor, and reaching the start of the moorland, I looked back and was rewarded with a view of Badger Field Farm and Studley Pike in the background.

 The climb up onto Heptonstall Moor was a bit of a grind in the now increasing heat, but was well worth it with views to the East.  There were some derelict properties dotted around the moor, one large one which I can only imagine must have been a very fine house for a wealthy land owner once in it’s lifetime.  It’s position being very remote, I can imagine now it would be a wild place to live if you enjoyed solitude!  Over the other side of the moor, I was rewarded with views of Gorple reservoir, and the Pack Horse Pub.  Now came the dilemma, it was getting near lunchtime, and I know the pub does lovely meals and nice beer (yep, have visited before with parents as one of their ”local’ haunts), or do I make use of the packed lunch with possibly squashed sandwiches?  Reluctantly, but with relief, I press on past Gorple reservoir, down and up the small but pretty grough, and along the access track to Walshaw Dean Reservoir, where it still being very hot, the boots and socks came off and squashed sandwiches were enjoyed with a view to the Pub!  How about that for discipline!?!

 Boots back on, feeling refreshed, I follow the reservoir edge for a while, before picking up the path over Haworth moor, and it really is a beautiful moor.  There are such stunning views, and somehow do not seem to be bleak but welcoming, with cotton making the moorland look really pretty.  On the approach to Ponden, the views got really big.  In the distance, the ruins of Withins house could be seen, allegedly the inspiration for the house used in Emily Brontes Wuthering Heights.

 

 

The walk down from the moor was a bit of a plod as it had become very hot.  I passed a farmstead that did offer campsite facilities but were closed at the moment, undergoing improvements.  Shame as it looked a lovely site, but never mind.  It was a pretty steep descent to Ponden reservoir, with a further plod along the access road to the few dwellings at the end – including Ponden House – my goal.  It seemed a cruel twist to have a bit of a steep climb up to the house, but I was there.  Having paid my fee, I followed my instructions to the campsite – up the road a bit further, through a gate and down a steep grassy path to the campfield by a stream and pick somewhere flat by the stream (duh – I was thinking of pitching on the hill!!!) – to access the ‘facilities’, I had to climb the steep grassy track up to the road again, and then continue up the road a bit to a private house, on which there was an outhouse with the one toilet/shower/sink inside, and drinking water tap outside!  Oh goody, when one is desperate in the morning, the hurridly having to get dressed is further agonised by the dash up the very steep and long grassy path and through an awkward gate to the outhouse!  Never mind, the lady said I would have the campfield to myself, which was brilliant, and I looked forward to dangling my hot feet in the cool stream.

WRONG!  The peace was shattered by a small party of school boys and their teacher who arrived on site, and teacher promptly announced they would be camping here, and to go and find firewood.  My only happiness was when I discovered the optimum (and in my opinion – the only viable spot) in the field where it was flat, and not near the several abandoned campfires at the bottom – had been taken by me!! This was loudly pointed out by the teacher, but never mind heh?  Celebrations were shortlived as I realised that despite the incredibly dry conditions, they were actually going to light a campfire??  I know that having a responsible adult around should mean it would be ok, but surely the purpose of the responsible adult would be to highlight when it is INAPPROPRIATE to light a campfire, ie when the surrounding ground and vegetation is extremely dry!

Time to scarper and let blissful ignorance be my solace, I hot footed it (literally) to the pub, a mere 20 minute walk, at the other end of the reservoir.  Despite being very expensive, the Old Silent Inn was lovely refuge, and I enjoyed my expensive meal and very expensive one drink, even managed vague conversation with Ian despite the dodgy signal.

I spent a very tense evening, sprawled in the tent, listening to the menagerie outside deciding what could and could not be put on the fire, exhaustion eventually giving way to sleep.  Thankfully, the morning was aided by the entertainment provided by the group as they discussed their plan of action, and struggled to get it together as some members of the group were clearly more enthusiastic at getting up out of their tent than others.  Having enjoyed my dish of beans, pot of coffee, and done the climbing of the hill to the toilet thing, I was packed and setting off just as they were getting their tents down!

 

